How to lock out a page

Answer:

The ability to "lock out" a page is controlled with the "Edit Mode" under the "Settings" menu.  This switches the editor between Basic Edit Mode and Advanced Edit Mode.  Click on the "Settings" button to get to the setting page.  You will see the default setting for "Edit Mode" is "Basic". Basic Edit Mode allows you to freely edit all basic HTML pages within your site without the need for special setup. 

Advanced Edit Mode gives you control over which pages can be edited, and what parts of a page can be edited. The global settings for Advanced mode are "All" and "None". These are assumptions about how the editor should treat your pages. If the setting is "All", then the editor will assume all pages are EDITABLE unless otherwise indicated by a special comment you place in the page's HTML code. If the setting is "None", then the editor assumes that all pages are LOCKED unless otherwise indicated by a special comment you place in the page's HTML code. Example: if you want to be able to edit all pages in your site, except for one page, then you would choose "All" and then place a comment in the page that you want to lock from being edited. Conversely, if you want only several pages to be editable, and the rest of the site to be locked, then choose "None" and insert comments in the pages you want to be editable.

Page Type tags:

<!-- NEEditMode = "basic" --> This sets the page for basic editing, leaving the full page open to editing.

<!-- NEEditMode = "locked" --> This locks the page, preventing it from being edited.

 

 

Return to Support Center
Email Support

Unable to find an answer? Free email support is available M-F, 9am - 6pm Mountain Time

support@nextedit.com

 

 

© 2004 - 2011, NextEdit - Online Website Editor. All rights reserved.